theology

The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines theology as: “the study of religious faith, practice, and experience; especially : the study of God and of God’s relation to the world”

I stated before that I want this to be a discussion. Also, if I ask a question or make a statement it is not because I do not have a strong opinion/belief on it, but rather I would like to hear the thoughts of friends & strangers who also enjoy thinking about these things and from whom I would not get to talk to due to distance.

On this first Thursday, would you please be so kind as to tip me off about the topics YOU would like to discuss or see discussed.

Hopefully this will work, but it largely depends on participation….so we will give it a try!! :)

5 responses to “theology

  • Stitch

    Hmmm. I’m questioning a lot of things at the moment. I, too, love theology and love discussing it. Having grown up slightly fundamentalist, dispensational, pre-tribulation rapture, etc., I’m sure you can understand my occasional hesitancy in my questions!

    I’ve been having a really hard time reading the Bible for the past four years. If I’m really honest, probably the past six or so years. Whenever I read, I hear the condemnation from the men who taught me Scripture since I was little. I have a hard time reconciling the Old Testament with the New. I have a hard time seeing Jesus in the Old Testament – the OT, with its emphasis seemingly on adherence to the letter of the law, with its patriarchal system that seems to rate women as little better than cattle, with rapists going unpunished while the woman raped is scorned for life. I have a hard time reconciling what the Bible says about homosexuality with what I have seen with my own eyes, what I have witnessed of the homosexual friends I have who are anything but the stereotype I grew up hearing.

    Sorry to pontificate on your blog here :) But basically…anything you want to talk about or bring up, I’m game. I love to talk. But…just be warned that I’m in a bit of a precarious place right now, where I’m just holding on to Jesus as hard as I can and I have a hard time caring about much else other than gaining some sort of stability. :)

  • Christy

    If you’re looking for topics, perhaps studying through a book of the Bible and covering topics as you come to them in the book would be interesting. I’m interested in you Theology Thursdays. ;D

  • David

    If you’re still accepting suggestions for topics of discussion, how about the implications of 1 Kings 8:27. They stagger the imagination.

  • David

    Well, since nothing has happened here in a while let’s shake it up a bit. How about discussing Calvinism?

Leave a Reply

